Day Two – Ubud, Hipsters Yogis and An Early Night

**apologies for the delay, internet was SH!T last night**

Welp, another day in Ubud, another layer of sunscreen.

I had an extraordinarily strange wake up in the middle of the night when I was jolted from deep sleep and dreaming about cats, to being wide awake and realising that I had pulled a long skirt on and dressed myself, one that had been lying at the bottom of my bed. Suffice to say, it freaked me out immensely. Mainly as when you go to bed wearing nothing, and then wake up wearing something, it’s a little strange… I’m not sure what I thought had happened – that someone had come into my room and dressed me in my inside-out skirt, but anyway. That happened.

After a short meditation in the morning with a pot of green tea, I skipped out the front door and leapt onto my hog (scooter) to go and grab a coffee. It was much needed. I found the correct brew at a place on the tourist strip and met a fellow solo traveller. We wandered around for a while and checked out the wares, before heading off into the heat. It was nice to have a chat to someone – travelling alone can be slightly lonesome at times.

After that I trotted off to find something to eat, but got distracted by the idea of heading into the Monkey Forest – it was just too enticing to see these teeny primates in the semi-wild. I say semi-wild as they’re tame as hell and are INCREDIBLY well fed on a diet of bananas, yams and whatever else they can dig out of your bag. While I was there I saw a girl get bitten by one, so I steered well clear and took photos from a safe distance. Also, monkeys have huge balls.

The rest of the day I passed by wandering around a rice paddy and finding my way to the Yoga House, a lush studio set among the vibrant green of the rice fields. Following a recommendation from Reana Louise I can safely say that I think my practice tomorrow morning is going to be something else. I’m going for morning flow, which is a gentle start to the day, and I’m really looking forward to it.

rice fields

I drank another coconut, had a delicious carrot and ginger soup, and then on my way home stopped off to drop off a worming tablet and some kitten food for this little guy who I met last night. I hope he grows up to be big and strong and shit; and a good mouser.

street cat

I found the most amazing lot of little villas in the rice paddies, called the dragonfly village, where as soon as I walked in the gates a little dog named Coffee bounded over and commenced licking the ever-loving shit out of my legs. He was only a puppy, but I have to say that he must have a liking for coconut sunscreen, ‘cos that’s what he was getting a mouthful of… Yikes. I also discovered that they have a gorgeous Sauna there from 6pm, so all things going well the schedule for the next three days is:

Monday – early morning yoga, stroll around rice fields, breakfast of mangosteens. Meditation, write and work, more yoga in the afternoon (potentially). Sleep.

Tuesday – Yoga, meditation, writing, sleep, reading, work, sleep, bintang, sleep.

Wednesday – Swimming, reading, writing, work, bintang, meditation, food.

It’s tough you guys, it’s really tough.

One thought on “Day Two – Ubud, Hipsters Yogis and An Early Night

Leave a comment